Malls · Maryland
White Flint Mall
White Flint Mall opened, closed in early 2015, was demolished; current status and ownership unknown; median area rent $2,030 today. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from. documented = a quoted excerpt (click to read it) · reported = a source named, no excerpt yet · no source.

Site profile12 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Lord & Taylor
This site: Lord & Taylor wikipedia · all sites with this100k+ jobs within 45 min by transit
This site: 336,302 epa-walkability · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 597 units in 2 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this3+ other atlas sites within 10 km
This site: 4 within 10 km computed · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 48,500 on 355 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisCounty lost 10%+ of retail establishments since 2012
This site: -13% census-cbp · all sites with thisCounty permitting 2,000+ apartment units a year
This site: 2,149 units, Montgomery County census-bps · all sites with thisCounty typical rent $2,000+
This site: $2,283/mo zillow · all sites with thisHigh-income tract ($100k+)
This site: $243,125 census-acs · all sites with thisLow social vulnerability tract (SVI ≤ 0.25)
This site: 0.01 cdc-svi · all sites with thisTract income up 60%+ since 2013
This site: +70% census-acs · all sites with thisWalkable block group (EPA ≥ 12)
This site: …index 17 epa-walkability · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata reported |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “White Flint Mall” and “Montgomery County” (6 hits, first 6 sampled, 2 other filers such as tenants left out). No commercial-mortgage trust names this mall in the sample, which does not rule out a securitised loan. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public owner (weak) | WASHINGTON REAL ESTATE INVESTMENT TRUST (ELME) | 3 | 2001-07-20 to 2002-03-19 | 8-K 3 |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 11 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | 1AOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 37: 1ST CHOICE COLLISION; ADVANCED BIOSCIENCE LABS INC; AMERICAN MEDICAL MEDICAL LABORATORIES; BERTOLINIS RESTAURANT; BILL YOUNG DOD BONE MARROWEPA FRS |
| Census tract 24031701202 | 2,649 people, 3,819 per sq mi; median household income $243,125; median gross rent $3,076; 7% renters; 3.4% vacant units; 17.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Walkability (EPA, block group) | index 17 of 20; 113 intersections per sq mi; nearest transit stop 401 m; land-use mix 0.89; 191,933 jobs within 45 min by car, 336,302 by transit; 2% of households without a carEPA Smart Location |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Montgomery County (MD), 2024 | 2,149 units in 5+ unit buildings, 16 in 2–4, 1,491 single-family; 2023: 1,840 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.01; socioeconomic 0.00; housing and transport 0.01; 3% below 150% of poverty; 0% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Other atlas sites nearby | 4 within 10 km, 52 within 25 km: RedGate Park and Arboretum (5.9 km); Rockville Mall (6.2 km); Bethesda Crescent (6.4 km); Mazza Gallerie (9.3 km)computed |
| Overture Maps | no place match; building footprint 9,167 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 178,677 since 2015; 10,443 in the last 12 months (-24% vs the prior 12); peak 2015-07 with 4,968Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | population -2% (2,717 → 2,649); median income +70% ($142,813 → $243,125); renters 11% → 7%; median home value +36% ($618,600 → $841,100)Census ACS 5-year |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | very low overall (score 2.3); expected annual loss $396,730; community resilience relatively moderateFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 2 LIHTC properties, 597 units: The Grand (546 units); Strathmore Court At White Flint (51 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2025 (BLS QCEW) | 40,341 jobs in 2,373 establishments; average annual pay $49,993; employment location quotient 0.89; employment -1.8% on the yearBLS QCEW 2025, NAICS 44-45, private |
| Jobs located in the tract, 2022 | 1,937 jobs; 709 in retail trade, 97 in accommodation and food (workplace blocks summed to tract 24031701202)Census LEHD LODES8 WAC 2022 |
| Upward mobility (Opportunity Atlas, 2010 tract) | children of low-income (25th percentile) families reached the 47th income percentile as adults; -2.7% incarcerated at the 2010 count (89 children in the sample); born 1978–83, measured 2014–15Opportunity Insights |
| Food access (USDA FARA 2019, 2010 tract) | not a low-access tract at 1 mile; poverty rate 0.9%; median family income $214,091; 0 SNAP householdsUSDA ERS |
| Schools | Montgomery County Public Schools (PK-12); 1 public school within 1 mile: Garrett Park ElementaryNCES EDGE |
| Elevation | 351 ft above sea level at the site pointUSGS 3DEP |
| Storm events in the county, 2016-2025 | 810 county-logged events: 443 thunderstorm wind, 160 flood, 136 flash flood, 55 hail; $30,850,100 property damage reported; 2 direct deaths; forecast-zone events (most flood, winter and heat) not countedNOAA Storm Events |
| Homes for sale in ZIP 20895, 2026-09 | median list price $832,000 (-13.8% on the year); 56 active listings; median 36 days on market; 14% with a price cutRealtor.com Research |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 2,358 establishments (-13%); 43,577 jobs (-5%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $606,938 (-0% 1 yr, +10% 5 yr); typical rent $2,283/mo (+1% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2025 | 595 (2000 = 100); -5.8% 1 yr, +21% 5 yr, +42% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 48,500 vehicles a day on 355 (principal arterial, 6 lanes); 1,363 trucks; 23 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
White Flint Mall opened (opening date not specified in the record) and operated as a regional mall along Rockville Pike. It closed in early 2015 and was subsequently demolished.
Why. not stated in the record
Where it stands. The site's current status is unknown per the record, and no controlling owner or entity is identified.
For a planner
- No policy tools or planning interventions are mentioned in the record.
- Open questions include future land‑use zoning, ownership clarification, and potential redevelopment frameworks.
For a developer
- Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided.
- Control and ownership of the site are unknown.
- Entitlement stage and any approvals are not described.
- Context‑layer constraints (flood, transit, environment) are not specified.
- Market signal: median rent in the area is $2,030 (from opp_reasons).
What we do not know yet
- Opening date of the mall is missing.
- Current owner or controlling entity is not identified.
- Parcel details, land area, and subdivision information are absent.
- Planning context, zoning, and any approved plans are not described.
- Environmental constraints (floodplain, wetlands, etc.) are unknown.
- Transit access and infrastructure details are not provided.
- The record is marked as 'draft' and 'verified': false, indicating limited review.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- County, White Flint mall property owner reach tentativ… reddit.com
- White Flint Mall - Wikipedia en.wikipedia.org
- White Flint Mall Photos and Premium High Res Pictures - Getty Images gettyimages.ie
- A Walking Tour in Pictures: The Final Days of White Flint Mall washingtonpost.com
- White Flint Mall scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net
- Sum Random Knowledge: RIP White Flint Mall blog.pagebypagebooks.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- median rent $2,030
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Anchors | Borders Books, Lord & Taylor |
|---|---|
| County | Montgomery County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Demolished shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, year opened, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
White Flint Mall was a regional mall in Montgomery County, Maryland, located along Rockville Pike, that closed in early 2015 and was demolished thereafter. Its former anchors were Lord & Taylor, Bloomingdale's, Dave & Buster's, H&M, AMC Theatres and Borders Books and Music, the last four of which acted as junior anchors for the mall.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Sources
- Wikipedia: White Flint Mall · 2026-09-21 · CC BY-SA 4.0