Malls · Virginia
Charlottesville Fashion Square
Charlottesville Fashion Square opened 1980, renovated twice, bankrupt 2021, interior closed 2025, anchors Belk/Home Depot remain with county safety center. · summary, model-written
Solid = from the authors' map · outlined = public source · dashed = model-written, not yet reviewed by a person. Tap any value's source label to see where it came from.

Site profile6 elements · what this retrofit is built with · tap a chip for the evidence
Website alive
This site: …https://charlottesvillefashion.com overture / http check · all sites with this15-minute neighbourhood (5+ of 6 daily needs within 800 m)
This site: 6/6 openstreetmap · all sites with this200+ tax-credit housing units within 1 km
This site: 396 units in 3 properties hud-lihtc · all sites with this30,000+ vehicles a day on an adjacent road
This site: 55,191 on 29 fhwa-hpms · all sites with thisGrocery within 800 m
This site: 4 stores openstreetmap · all sites with thisRenter-majority tract
This site: 61% census-acs · all sites with thisNow
| Status | Status not verifiedWikidata |
|---|
Securitised debt and public filers
Filings (2001 to date) that name “Charlottesville Fashion Square” and “Charlottesville” (644 hits, first 100 sampled). Common name: these matches are unreliable. Only weak matches to commercial-mortgage trusts: the mall may have backed a securitised loan, or may just be mentioned in the filing; several trusts usually means one loan split into pari-passu notes. Earliest trust filing in the sample 2014-07-22 (a sample date, not the issuance date); candidate loan vintage 2012 from the trust name (weak match). Whether the loan is still in the pool, in special servicing or repaid is in the trust's monthly distribution reports, which are not searchable here. Text matches, not a title search. Open the search · all trusts.
| Kind | Filer | Filings | Dates | Forms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMBS trust (weak) | JPMBB Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2014-C22 | 20 | 2014-08-22 to 2023-03-09 | 10-K 19, 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | JPMBB Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2014-C21 | 11 | 2014-07-22 to 2023-03-14 | 10-K 10, 8-K 1 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Benchmark 2019-B11 Mortgage Trust | 2 | 2020-03-17 to 2021-03-24 | 10-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2013-LC11 | 2 | 2020-03-17 to 2021-03-19 | 10-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | JPMBB Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2015-C31 | 2 | 2020-03-20 to 2021-03-15 | 10-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2013-C13 | 2 | 2020-03-20 to 2021-03-18 | 10-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | J.P. Morgan Chase Commercial Mortgage Securities Trust 2012-C8 | 2 | 2020-03-17 to 2021-03-18 | 10-K 2 |
| CMBS trust (weak) | Benchmark 2018-B8 Mortgage Trust | 2 | 2020-03-23 to 2021-03-12 | 10-K 2 |
| Public owner (strong) | WASHINGTON PRIME GROUP INC. | 7 | 2015-02-26 to 2021-08-09 | 8-K 6, 10-K 1 |
As reported by the owner
Property tables from the owner's annual report (Form 10-K, Item 2) on EDGAR, one row per filing year. GLA, occupancy and anchors are the filer's own figures at that year end; “leased” counts signed leases, “occupied” counts open stores; ownership is the filer's share. Matched by name and place, unreviewed; the verbatim table row is in sec_facts.csv.
| Year end | Filer | Name in filing | GLA sq ft | Occupancy | Years | Share | Sales psf | Anchors listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 | Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2017-02-24 | Charlottesville Fashion Square Charlottesville, VA match: exact | 578,093 | 87.0% occupied | acquired 1997 | 100.0% Ground Lease (2076) | Belk, JCPenney, Sears | |
| 2014 | Washington Prime Group 10-K, 2015-02-26 | Charlottesville Fashion Square Acq 1997, VA match: exact | 576,787 | 98.1% occupied | 100.0% Ground Lease (2086) | Belk, JCPenney, Sears | ||
| 2009 | Simon Property Group 10-K, 2010-02-25 | Charlottesville Fashion Square Charlottesville, VA match: exact | 569,861 | 94.3% occupied | acquired 1997 | 100.0% Ground Lease (2076) | Belk Women's & Children's, Belk Men's & Home, JCPenney, Sears |
Site context
| Transit within 800 m | no rail station; 3 bus stops within 400 mOpenStreetMap |
|---|---|
| Motorway junctions within 2 km | junctionOpenStreetMap |
| FEMA flood zone | X · AREA OF MINIMAL FLOOD HAZARDFEMA NFHL |
| EPA-regulated facilities within 500 m | 11: BROWN COLLISION CENTER; DISCOUNT TIRE; HOME DEPOT CHARLOTTESVILLE; HOME DEPOT STORE #711; HUGHES SUPPLY #HDHG C23BEPA FRS |
| Census tract 51003010603 | 2,529 people, 4,461 per sq mi; median household income $61,298; median gross rent $1,724; 61% renters; 2.3% vacant units; 0.0% commute by transitACS 2023 5-year |
| Within a 10–15 minute walk (800 m) | 6 of 6 daily needs: 4 grocers, 1 schools, 10 parks or playgrounds, 5 health, 6 civic, 10 food and drink; 7 cycleway segments, 89 sidewalk-tagged segmentsOpenStreetMap |
| Opportunity Zone | noHUD |
| Housing permits, Albemarle County (VA), 2024 | 188 units in 5+ unit buildings, 22 in 2–4, 600 single-family; 2023: 242 in 5+Census BPS |
| Social vulnerability (CDC SVI 2022, tract) | overall percentile 0.61; socioeconomic 0.40; housing and transport 0.70; 10% below 150% of poverty; 22% of households with no vehicleCDC/ATSDR |
| Overture Maps | place Charlottesville Fashion Square (shopping_mall, confidence 0.96, from BrightQuery, Overture, Overture-signals); building footprint 45,447 m²Overture (CDLA-Permissive 2.0) |
| Website and social | charlottesvillefashion.com (alive); archived 2001–2026 (Wayback)Overture / Internet Archive |
| Attention: Wikipedia page views | 50,541 since 2015; 5,459 in the last 12 months (-31% vs the prior 12); peak 2023-03 with 1,445Wikimedia |
| Tract change 2013–2023 | tract boundary changed between the 2010 and 2020 census; no 2013 comparisonCensus ACS |
| Natural hazard risk (FEMA National Risk Index, tract) | relatively low overall (score 50.2); expected annual loss $956,653; high: strong wind; community resilience relatively highFEMA NRI |
| Tax-credit housing within 1 km | 3 LIHTC properties, 396 units: Mallside Forest (160 units); Rio Hill (139 units); Woods Edge (Albemarle County) (97 units)HUD LIHTC |
| Retail trade in the county, 2012 to 2023 | 321 establishments (-3%); 7,039 jobs (+23%)Census CBP |
| Housing market in the county | typical home value $549,955 (+2% 1 yr, +27% 5 yr); typical rent $1,941/mo (-0% 1 yr), 2026-09Zillow Research |
| House price index, tract, 2023 | 340 (2000 = 100), +77% 10 yrFHFA |
| Traffic on the busiest road within 600 m (2024) | 55,191 vehicles a day on 29 (principal arterial, 8 lanes); 2,023 trucks; 28 counted segmentsFHWA HPMS |
Summary, model-written
Charlottesville Fashion Square opened in 1980 as a regional mall, underwent renovations in 1990 and 1999, and filed for bankruptcy in 2021. In January 2025, management terminated all interior store leases and closed off the interior, leaving Belk and Home Depot as the remaining anchor stores while the Albemarle County Public Safety Operations Center occupies a third former anchor space.
Why. The record notes the mall's bankruptcy in 2021 and the subsequent lease terminations in 2025 as key events, but does not explicitly state underlying causes such as anchor losses, competition, debt, or demolition.
Where it stands. As of 2026, the site is controlled by the remaining anchor tenants (Belk and Home Depot) and Albemarle County, which operates a public safety operations center in a former anchor; the current owner is not specified in the record.
For a planner
- Prior renovations (1990, 1999) show precedent for physical updates.
- Bankruptcy and interior closure illustrate a path to adaptive reuse of anchor spaces.
- The county’s public safety center demonstrates a possible institutional reuse model.
- Open questions include zoning allowances for mixed-use or redevelopment and any pending comprehensive plan amendments.
For a developer
- Site size and parcel boundaries are not provided in the record.
- Control is split among private anchor tenants and a county entity, complicating unified development.
- Entitlement stage (e.g., zoning, site plan approval) is unknown.
- Context-layer constraints (flood risk, transit access, environmental conditions) are not detailed.
- Market signals from the record: Albemarle County grew 6.9% 2018‑2023; median rent $1,623.
What we do not know yet
- Exact site acreage and parcel configuration are missing.
- Current ownership structure post‑bankruptcy is not stated.
- Zoning designation and any entitlements or pending approvals are unknown.
- Floodplain, seismic, or other environmental constraints are not provided.
- Transit proximity and pedestrian/bicycle infrastructure details are absent.
- Future plans for the vacant interior or remaining anchor spaces are not disclosed.
Generated by nvidia/nemotron-3-super-120b-a12b on NVIDIA API via Hermes CT from the fields, parcels, deals and context layers on this page, with no outside knowledge. It is regenerated when the record changes and has not been checked by a person. How it is made.
Elsewhere on the web
Pages with photos
- Charlottesville Fashion Squar… lorencdesign.com
- What Really Happened To Charlottesville Fashion Square Mall And Its ... bestattractions.org
- Charlottesville Fashion Square - CWCki sonichu.com
Search images: Google · Bing · Commons · references: ULI case studies · Google Scholar
Multifamily screen
- county grew 6.9% 2018–23
- median rent $1,623
Inputs: record fields (size, status) and county Census ACS 2018–2023 figures (growth, rent). How the points work. Not a recommendation.
History and original facts
| Opened | 1980Wikidata |
|---|---|
| Anchors | Home Depot |
| County | Albemarle County |
| Census division | 5 · South Atlantic |
| Notes | Wikipedia categories: Defunct shopping malls in the United States |
Not yet recorded: acres, GLA, original developer, what is there now, retrofit year. Know it? Tell us.
Background
Charlottesville Fashion Square is a defunct regional shopping mall in Charlottesville, Virginia, United States, located about one mile north of Charlottesville city limits on U.S. Route 29 in unincorporated Albemarle County. Fashion Square opened in 1980 and was renovated in 1990 and 1999. In 2021, its owners filed for bankruptcy, and in January 2025, the mall's management terminated the leases of all interior stores and closed off the interior. As of 2026, the remaining anchor stores are Belk and Home Depot, with the Albemarle County Public Safety Operations Center located in a third former anchor store.
Excerpt from Wikipedia (authors and history), CC BY-SA 4.0. May be older than the record above.
Timeline
- 1980 Opened (Wikidata)
Sources
- Wikipedia: Charlottesville Fashion Square · 2026-08-12 · CC BY-SA 4.0
More in Virginia
Cloverleaf MallRichmond, VA · 2009Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed use, new streets
Coliseum MallHampton, VA · 2010Redeveloped · Redevelopment: mixed useNewmarket North MallHampton, VA · 2000Reinhabited · Reinhabitation: office
Tysons Corner CenterTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: residential
Tysons GalleriaTysons Corner, VA · 2016Partial Redeveloped · Partial redevelopment: office